News »

State Duma unanimously validates incorporation of new regions to Russia

duma-rusia-incorporacion-territorios-oct-3-221The lower house of the Russian Federal Assembly, the State Duma, unanimously ratified on Monday the documents for the incorporation of the territories of Donetsk, Lugansk, Zaporozhie and Kherson into the Russian Federation.

State Duma Chairman Viacheslav Volodin noted that the number of Russian territorial subjects amounted to 89.

The politician commented on his Telegram channel that “the entry of the Donetsk, Lugansk, Zaporozhie and Kherson people’s republics into the Russian Federation is the only way to save the lives of millions of people from the criminal regime in kyiv. Stop the bombing of the civilian population, the elderly, women and children. Protect the right to one’s mother tongue, culture, history and one’s faith.”

Both chambers of the Russian parliament must ratify the accession of the new territories. The upper house, the Federation Council, will vote on the incorporation documents on Tuesday.

According to the ratified documents, two republics and two regions or oblasts will be formed, which will retain their current names and whose leaders will hold the rank of governors.

The Russian Constitutional Court confirmed on October 2, in four court rulings, that the incorporation documents meet the requirements of the constitution.

(With information from RT in Spanish)

Make a comment

Your email address will not be published. The mandatory fields are marked. *